In My Kitchen: Balsamic Bruschetta

I was excited about our summer garden and I wrote about it here. But for whatever reason, maybe our record-breaking cool summer or my not-so-diligent weeding, the season’s harvest has been less than hearty.  Only the tomato plants thrived.  So I am treasuring our tomatoes.

Our garden’s poster child and my kitchen’s muse.  I’m not normally a tomato fan, but these homegrown varieties are a different story.  TJ and I love to eat them on toasted tomato sandwiches.  Just toast, light mayo, sprinkling of Lawry’s Season All and sliced fresh tomatoes.  Yummy.  

This season, I’m especially loving them to make fresh bruschetta, with a splash of balsamic vinegar.

Balsamic Bruschetta

  • 2 Cups tomatoes, finely chopped and juices drained
  • 1 Cup fresh basil, thin strips
  • 2 fresh garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 Tbs. sugar
  • 2 Tbs. extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 Tbs. balsamic vinegar
  • 1/2 Tbs. salt (or less to taste)
  • 1/2 Tbs. pepper

Toss ingredients and let stand in the refrigerator for at least 1 hour to let the flavors blend.  Serve with sliced bagette, crostini or crackers.  I even toasted a buttered, parmesan-topped hoagie bun and enjoyed an open-faced bruschetta sandwich for lunch.  That alone was worth the effort of weeding and digging and planting tomatoes.  Not so sure I can say the same for the sorry looking squash.

Buon Appetito!

I’d love to hear about your favorite tomato recipes.  What’s in your kitchen?

Leave a Reply

